History of the Mill
Situated on the Shropshire Union Canal, a mile to the north of the village of Bunbury
are two wide beamed staircase locks. Brightly coloured narrow boats can often be
seen navigating through this difficult double feature but it boasts a picturesque
and timeless location in the historic rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside.
This 'Castle of the Rock' is famous for its spectacular views, which take in no less than eight counties on a clear day. From its lookout point at the top of a mighty crag, you can see from the Pennines all the way to the Welsh mountains.
Historically there were a number of water mills along the Gowy Valley, reflecting the rich agricultural heritage of the area. Records show that there has been a mill at Bunbury since 1290. It is believed that the present building dates from circa 1850 when Thomas Parker began milling flour.
The loading ramp which enters directly on to the top floor of the Mill bears witness to the deliveries of grain that were brought by Horse and Cart. After the opening of the Chester Canal, in the late eighteenth century, much of the grain would arrive by canal much of it coming via Liverpool. A section of the Act permitting the building of the Canal included a clause protecting the water supply to the Mill.
The Mill was extensively rebuilt in mid nineteenth century and much of the equipment survives from that date. In the latter years, the main product was animal feed, produced from materials grown on the local farms.
The mill runs over 3 floors and contains numerous historical machines used during the milling process. Most of these are still in working order and are regularly demonstrated.